top of page

DECLARE: Annie Chang

What does it mean to be contemporary? We asked all eleven of the artists in the show to give us their thoughts, collected in our DECLARE blog series.

 

Project Body Bag is an exploration of my body and a photo documentation of its relationship to the materials, space, and people around me. Annie began with a literal outline of my body as the pattern for a fabric bag which I constructed to hold metaphorical baggage. When asked what contemporary meant to her, she responded:

"In my practice, Contemporary means an active dialogue with the present. It is an experiential of new and traditional materials in context to current events and an interpersonal relationship to the viewer as an active participant. It is an invitation to my personal experiences as a Korean American woman of color. The Contemporary considers the past with critique but holds hope and responsibility for the future although it is an active critique left open to interpretation.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page